restructuring your conditions

I made some changes in my conditions to try and maximize the possibility for continuing to write books. Don’t get me wrong, I love my life and my routine. But something was off, and consequentially I’ve seen a frightening drop in sustained creative output the last couple of months. I can flash here and flash there, keeping up my daily blogging and youtubing, but there is a price to pay for this kinda work. You get used to bouncing around the internet! Which I find not so conducive to the long form, or the conditions necessary for writing books. Many will say (and I have told myself) it’s as easy as clicking on the ‘do not disturb’ protocol (on your devices) and making personal space for yourself. And maybe it is. But bloggers have a responsibility to their audience that the Ralph Waldo Emersons and Henry David Thoreaus of the world have not! Anyway, I decided to make some changes. I stepped away from the internet for several days and stepped outdoors. I drove out of town and did some things differently than usual. This coincides with a vacation from my nine to fiver. I eased up on the coffee. I caught up on my sleep (a real deficit I was running) and reconnected with some people and creatures (mostly cats) I care about, on a deeper level. I stopped reading and listening to the news. I need to make a conscious push towards the lighter things of life, laughter and learning and shared, hopeful perspectives. I tend to let myself go toward darkness, I realize, it’s easier to be jaded. Now I am rediscovering how it feels to wake up in the morning, make some coffee, and sit down at my desk in silence and write my book. It was only a few months back when I was doing this, but it coulda been forever ago.

2 responses to “restructuring your conditions

  1. I’ve had to do the same things esp. when getting burnt out from marketing and connecting. But writers, by nature, need to take time away and focus on the deeper aspects of writing. Writing is a spiritual act that requires solitude as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lacey. Yes i feel much refreshed lately with minimal time on social media. Hoping to stay conscious of my daily routine and do like you said so well there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

