book review

Review: Valley of the Dolls

Valley of the DollsValley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Susann
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Such a great cover and title, and the synopsis / blurb lured me in. But it was a long and rather dull read with lots of trite remarks and careless writing, and the story seemed to drag on forever, possibly because the characters were shallow and unlikable. An exception to this was Neely. I really liked Neely. She should have been the star, all along. All the other characters are in some sorta finishing school for robots and stepford wives and materialists and breeders. Fakers. Oooh, I really was waiting for an apocalyptic moment, to turn the whole thing around and feature a world run by roaches, with Nelly as the grand puba at the top of the Empire State Building, or what was left of it, anyway.

2 responses to “book review

  1. I agree. When I read this book my prime feeling was wanting to take some of the characters by the neck and shake them. It felt like they were sleepwalking into doom. Not the feminist road trip I was hoping for (though I’m not sure why I hoped for that given the blurb suggested it was never going to end well for the ladies). Bronte Turner

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

