writing. process

I have had the opportunity this month to take a look at what techniques I invent, organically, to reach the wordcounts demanded by the national novel writing month contest, and wanted to share…

When unable to write, i have found a power nap to rejuvenate my hopes and reset my thought processes.

Half hour walks are the best way to generate ideas, and cycling the trail recharges my energy and self-confidence.

Complete silence or electronica music (minimal vocals) is the most sustainable audio. Tycho’s trance-like sound is one I respond to well.

I am less of a planner, more of an adventurer, setting out without a clear destination. This means I often feel lost. I counterbalance this feeling, by imprinting new characters and new experiences, with firm recollections of my own experiences.

I always write in the same room. Any time of the day. I switch from the couch to the desk. A book of affirmations is always on my desk, in the event I feel discouraged.

Posture is important. Fresh air. Yoga helps. Natural light. Swing arm lamps are my favorite, when writing at night. Television kills any chance of writing.

For long works, I always break it down into short chapters. This is key! My chapters usually run 700 – 1500 words.

I use the device with the best keyboard experience. In my case, the Samsung Chromebook.

I keep ‘running notes’ with a few open-ended questions and possibilities for plot development. And I track character development. I often read passages aloud, to hear the story.

One large mug of coffee, followed by copious amounts of tea, works far better than a coffee IV drip!

Leave a Reply

