darkness awaits

The day, suffocated by clouds.  I slept into a steady rain, clawing at the glass. I would open the door for no one.

No one could rest for long. Nor could I. They wanted my life, behind  terrible smiles. Eyes, watching the breath in my chest.

Only my graveyard obligations would get me, far, far from home. I wore black, to blend in the night. Carried the iron cast lantern.

I walked with purpose, concealing my fear behind silver buttons. My life. Steeled to the ritual task.

Leave a Reply

